2014 Cohort 2015

Through the Leadership Institute for School Principals, a cohort of principals come together to participate in workshops at the Kentucky Chamber in Frankfort and at the Center for Creative Leadership in North Carolina.

Much like the CEO of a business, a school principal is responsible for everything that happens in his or her building. But principals’ most important work is making sure students achieve at the highest possible levels – giving them the best foundation for success later in life. That means teachers and other team members in a school building must be focused on the same goal … and that requires strong leadership from the top.

Research has shown that effective leaders have a positive impact on student and school performance, but Kentucky’s principals have limited opportunities to receive the high-end training that is of such great value to leaders in the business community. That is why the Kentucky Chamber Foundation started the Leadership Institute for School Principals – offering school leaders executive-level leadership training unmatched anywhere in the state.

The Leadership Institute for School Principals delivers cutting-edge training to help Kentucky principals:

  • Build a high-performance culture
  • Influence others to ensure student success
  • Explore how knowledge of individual strengths and developmental needs can produce positive outcomes for students, schools and communities
  • Practice new behaviors for positive results

And thanks to donations from individuals, businesses and communities, the program is free for participants.

Advisory Board

  • John Williams, Sr., Chairman, Computer Services Inc., Paducah – Institute Co-Chair
  • Randy Poe, Superintendent, Boone Co. Schools, Institute Co-Chair
  • Nicholas Brake, Superintendent, Owensboro Public Schools, Owensboro
  • Robin Carroll, Alumni, South Heights Elementary School, Henderson County
  • Ronald Chi, Alumni, The Learning Center at Linlee, Fayette County
  • Keith Gannon, CEO, Boneal, Inc., Winchester
  • Jerry Green, Superintendent, Pikeville Independent Schools, Pikeville
  • Scott Hawkins, Superintendent, Woodford County Public Schools, Versailles
  • Joel Hopper, President, Brenntag Mid-South, Inc., Henderson
  • William Jones, Community Division Manager, U.S. Bank, Paducah
  • Deirdre Lyons, Cofounder, Alltech, Inc., Nicholasville
  • William Lear, Jr., Chairman, Stoll Keenon Ogden, PLLC, Lexington
  • Elizabeth McCoy, President, Planters Bank, Hopkinsville
  • Michael Owsley, Partner, English, Lucas, Priest & Owsley, LLP, Bowling Green
  • Tom Shelton, Executive Director, Association of Superintendents, Lexington

About the Center for Creative Leadership

The Center for Creative Leadership is ranked among the world’s Top 10 providers of executive education by Bloomberg BusinessWeek and the Financial Times. Through a strategic partnership with the Kentucky Chamber Foundation, CCL is now providing its executive training expertise to Kentucky School principals (and, new for 2016, superintendents) through the Leadership Institute for School Principals.